Growth

I have always hated my father
Yet the best part of me I took after him
Writing!
What makes me who I am.
What gives me strength
What helps me face the day
What allows me to breathe

I have always hated my father
Yet I have started a journey
In which I must accept all parts of me
If I want to be whole
I must embrace my flaws, my weaknesses,
Those dark spots I am so ashamed of

I have always hated my father
And that sentiment has gotten me bitter
Bitter to the point where all fatherhood bearers
Were nothing more but devils in disguise
Yet I am taking on a new aspect of this figure
Looking at a the other side of the coin
The side from which all men aren’t pure evil
No matter their vices, no matter their misdeeds

I have always hated my father
Yet I have grown to see him as a human being
With his own pain and shattered dreams
With his turmoil and low self-esteem
And today I dare say
That I have learned to love him
For that part of me
Without which I would be incomplete
For that dream in me
A dream one day I will complete

Leave a Reply

